Skip to content

Waiting in the Wings

February 27, 2010

Back Stage

Waiting in the Wings

Think I’m still wanting to mess around with this one.

Waiting in the wings

Silently awaiting my cue

while the chaos unfolds out front.

I hear my feet shuffling

shuffling

shuffling

as I pace back and forth

wringing my hands

A sudden quiet overwhelms my ears.

I leap forward to peer out

have I missed my entrance?!

No, a moment of lovers embrace.

My heart sinks

deeper and deeper

Trampled, kicked, and scuffed beneath my own unsteady gait.

The black curtain falls and forever I wait for that one precious line uttered from your perfect mouth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 11:14 pm

    I think this is an excellent poem and I like the “Waiting in the wings” theme.

    • tinysagittarian permalink
      February 28, 2010 6:44 pm

      Thanks, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it so took sometime before finally posting it. Re-reading it, it’s growing on me a little.

Leave a Reply

